The Council

The IRENA Council is composed of 21 Member States elected for a two-year term and is accountable to the Assembly. Council members serve on a rotating basis to ensure the effective participation of both developing and developed countries and a fair and equitable geographical distribution. The Council’s responsibilities include facilitating consultation and cooperation among IRENA Members and reviewing the draft work programme, draft budget and annual report.

The twenty-seventh IRENA Council will take place from 13-14 June 2024, in Abu Dhabi. The meetings of subsidiary organs of the Council will take place on 12 June 2024, in Abu Dhabi.

IRENA’s thirteenth Assembly elected the following countries to serve on the Council in 2024: 

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Canada, China, Denmark, Egypt, Germany, Ghana, Honduras, India, Malaysia, Nigeria, Portugal, Rwanda, Spain, Tonga, United Arab Emirates, United States of America and ZimbabweCyprus, Greece, Iraq, Italy, Japan, Mauritius, Panama, Republic of Korea, Saint Lucia, Togo, Uganda and Uruguay act as alternates.

Two committees currently assist the Council in its work:

Administration and Finance Committee
Chair: the Kingdom of Tonga
Vice-Chair: the United Arab Emirates
Members: Antigua and Barbuda, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, China, Egypt, Iraq, Togo, Tonga, Saint Lucia and the United Arab Emirates

Programme and Strategy Committee
Chair: El Salvador
Vice-Chair: the United States of America
Members: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cyprus, El Salvador, Japan, Kenya, Singapore, Türkiye, the United States of America, Uruguay, and Zimbabwe