Twenty-Third Meeting of the IRENA Council

The IRENA Council is composed of 21 Members elected for a two-year term and is accountable to the Assembly. Council members serve on a rotating basis to ensure the effective participation of both developing and developed countries and a fair and equitable geographical distribution. The Council’s responsibilities include facilitating consultation and cooperation among IRENA Members and reviewing the Agency’s work programme, budget and annual report among other relevant administrative and institutional matters.

The twenty-third Council meeting of the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) was held on 24-25 May 2022. The meetings of subsidiary organs of the Council took place on 17-18 May 2022.

IRENA’s eleventh Assembly elected the following countries to serve on the Council in 2022:

Algeria, Benin, Canada, Cyprus, Denmark, El Salvador, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Norway, Republic of Korea, Saint Lucia, Somalia, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, Uruguay, Vanuatu and Zimbabwe.

China, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Nigeria, Switzerland, Turkey, Tuvalu and United Kingdom act as alternates.

Two committees currently assist the Council in its work:

  • Administration and Finance Committee
    Chair: Maldives
    Vice-Chair: Germany
    Members: Antigua & Barbuda, China, Egypt, Germany, Maldives, Nigeria, Poland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and United States of America
  • Programme and Strategy Committee
    Chair: United States of America
    Vice-Chair: Algeria
    Members: Algeria, Antigua & Barbuda, Canada, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, Kenya, United Arab Emirates, and United States of America


Related documents are accessible on REmember portal and in the Official Documents section.