Nineteenth and Twentieth Meetings of the IRENA Council

03 – 04 November 2020 |Zoom Platform

The IRENA Council is composed of 21 Members elected for a two-year term and is accountable to the Assembly. Council members serve on a rotating basis to ensure the effective participation of both developing and developed countries and a fair and equitable geographical distribution. The Council’s responsibilities include facilitating consultation and cooperation among IRENA Members and reviewing the organisation work programme, budget and annual report.

The nineteenth and twentieth meetings of the Council will be held on 3 and 4 November 2020 in a virtual setting, on the Zoom platform. Programmatic Discussions, that are part of the Council deliberations will be held on 19 and 21 October.

IRENA’s tenth Assembly elected the following countries to serve on the Council in 2020: Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Belgium, Burkina Faso, Chad, Cyprus, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Germany, Italy, Jordan, Kiribati, Malaysia, Mexico, Mozambique, New Zealand, Philippines, Switzerland, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, and United States of America.

Argentina, Cameroon, China, El Salvador, Japan, Nigeria, Republic of Korea, Spain, Turkey, and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland act as alternates.

Two committees currently assist the Council in its work:

  • Administration and Finance Committee
    Chair: United States of America
    Members: Chad, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Ghana, Guyana, Japan, Saint Lucia and Switzerland
  • Programme and Strategy Committee
    Chair: Samoa
    Members: Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Netherlands, New Zealand, Sudan, Ukraine, and Zimbabwe