Seventeenth Meeting of the IRENA Council

25 – 26 June 2019 |Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

The seventeenth meeting of the Council will took place on 25 and 26 June 2019 in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. 

IRENA’s ninth Assembly elected the following countries to serve on the Council in 2019: Antigua and Barbuda, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, China, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Germany, Japan, Kiribati, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Mexico, Mozambique, Republic of Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and United States of America. Argentina, Bangladesh, Chad, Cyprus, El Salvador, Italy, Malaysia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Philippines act as alternates.

The Chair of the Seventeenth Council was Luxembourg.

IRENA Director-General, Francesco La Camera, delivered the Opening Remarks to the 17th Meeting of the IRENA Council.

IRENA Senior Management presented the Progress Report

Two committees currently assist the Council in its work:

Administration and Finance Committee

  • Chair: Antigua & Barbuda
  • Members: Bangladesh, the Dominican Republic and Zimbabwe

Programme and Strategy Committee

  • Chair: Unites States of America
  • Vice-chair: Samoa
  • Members: Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, the Dominican Republic, Germany, the Kingdom of the Netherlands and the Philippines 

For media enquiries contact

For other enquiries related to the event contact