Sixteenth Meeting of the IRENA Council

13 – 15 November 2018 |Abu Dhabi, UAE

The sixteenth meeting of the Council will took place on 13 - 15 November 2018 in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

IRENA’s seventh Assembly elected the following countries to serve on the Council in 2018:

Argentina, China, Colombia, Cyprus, Egypt, France, Ghana, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Malaysia, Niger, Russian Federation, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Sweden, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, Zimbabwe.

Bangladesh, Dominican Republic, Germany, Panama, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Sudan, Turkey, Uruguay act as alternates.

Two committees currently assist the Council in its work:

Administration and Finance Committee
Chair: Antigua & Barbuda
Members: Bangladesh, the Dominican Republic and Zimbabwe

Programme and Strategy Committee
Chair: Unites States of America
Vice-chair: Samoa
Members: Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, the Dominican Republic, Germany, the Kingdom of the Netherlands and the Philippines.

During the event the seventh funding cycle of IRENA/ADFD Project Facility opened for applications from government-backed projects in developing countries. A round-up of what happened during the Council can be found in IRENA's newsroom.

 Photos from the event can be found on Flickr.