Twenty-Seventh Meeting of the IRENA Council

Watch the 27th Council: De-risking investments towards realising SDG 7

Watch the 27th Council: Industry Driven Partnerships for Accelerated Energy Transition - AFID and UNEZA

Watch the 27th Council: Industry Driven Partnerships for Accelerated Energy Transition - AFID and UNEZA II

The IRENA Council is composed of 21 Members elected for a two-year term and is accountable to the Assembly. Council members serve on a rotating basis to ensure the effective participation of both developing and developed countries and a fair and equitable geographical distribution. The Council’s responsibilities include facilitating consultation and cooperation among IRENA Members and reviewing the Agency’s work programme, budget and annual report among other relevant administrative and institutional matters.

The twenty-seventh Council meeting of the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) will be held on 13 and 14 June 2024, with the meetings of subsidiary organs of the Council on 12 June 2024.

IRENA’s thirteenth Assembly elected the following countries to serve on the Council in 2024: Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Canada, China, Denmark, Egypt, Germany, Ghana, Honduras, India, Malaysia, Nigeria, Portugal, Rwanda, Spain, Tonga, the United Arab Emirates, the United States of America and Zimbabwe.

Cyprus, Greece, Iraq, Italy, Japan, Mauritius, Panama, Republic of Korea, Saint Lucia, Togo, Uganda and Uruguay act as alternates.

Zimbabwe is the 27th Council Chair and Bangladesh is a Vice-Chair.

Two committees currently assist the Council in its work:

  • Administration and Finance Committee
    Chair: Tonga
    Vice-Chair: The United Arab Emirates
    Members: Antigua and Barbuda, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, China, Egypt, Iraq, Togo, Tonga, Saint Lucia and the United Arab Emirates
  • Programme and Strategy Committee
    Chair: El Salvador
    Vice-Chair: The United States of America
    Members: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cyprus, El Salvador, Japan, Kenya, Singapore, Türkiye, the United States of America, Uruguay, and Zimbabwe