Kick-off meeting of the Global Offshore Wind Alliance (GOWA)

KEFM logo GWEC logo IRENA logo

The Global Offshore Wind Alliance (GOWA), founded by Denmark, the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA), and the Global Wind Energy Council (GWEC), was officially launched at COP27 in November 2022.

To date, fourteen countries, including Australia, Belgium, Colombia, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Japan, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Saint Lucia, the United Kingdom, the United States of America have joined the Alliance, pledging to a rapid ramp up of offshore wind.

The 22 March meeting was the first senior-level virtual meeting for GOWA members since the Alliance was launched and an opportunity to exchange views on current status, expectations and next steps of the alliance.