Eighteenth Meeting of the IRENA Council

The IRENA Council is composed of 21 Member States elected for a two-year term and is accountable to the Assembly. Council members serve on a rotating basis to ensure the effective participation of both developing and developed countries and a fair and equitable geographical distribution. The Council’s responsibilities include facilitating consultation and cooperation among IRENA Members and reviewing the draft work programme, draft budget and annual report.

The eighteenth meeting of the Council took place on 5 and 6 November 2019 in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

IRENA’s ninth Assembly elected the following countries to serve on the Council in 2019: Antigua and Barbuda, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, China, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Germany, Japan, Kiribati, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Mexico, Mozambique, Republic of Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and United States of America. Argentina, Bangladesh, Chad, Cyprus, El Salvador, Italy, Malaysia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Philippines act as alternates.

Two committees currently assist the Council in its work:

  • Administration and Finance Committee
    Chair: United States of America
    Members: Chad, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Ghana, Guyana, Japan, Saint Lucia and Switzerland
  • Programme and Strategy Committee
    Chair: Samoa
    Members: Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Islamic Republic of Iran, Netherlands, New Zealand, Sudan, Ukraine, and Zimbabwe

Press release

Newsroom concluding article