IRENA membership

The Statute of IRENA stipulates that membership in the Agency is open to those States that are members of the United Nations and to regional intergovernmental economic integration organisations, willing and able to act in accordance with the objectives and activities laid down in the Statute.

Information on how to become a Member


Currently, IRENA has 150 Members and 26 States have started the formal process of becoming Members.

Signatory States
 Members of the Agency
 States in the process of becoming Members (Signatories/States in Accession)


IRENA Members - 150
Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, China, Colombia, Comoros, Cote D'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, European Union, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guyana, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Latvia, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Kingdom of the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Thailand, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Tuvalu, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

States in the process of becoming Members (Signatories/States in Accession) - 26*
Austria, Cambodia, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, Congo, Costa Rica, Democratic Republic of the Congo, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Honduras, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Nepal, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Syrian Arab Republic, Timor-Leste, United Republic of Tanzania, Uzbekistan.

* This list does not include those States that qualify as ‘applicants for membership’ pursuant to Article VI.B.2. of the IRENA Statute.

The designations employed and the presentation of materials herein do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of the Secretariat of the International Renewable Energy Agency concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries.

Copyright © 2016 IRENA - International Renewable Energy Agency. All Rights Reserved.