The tenth meeting of the Council took place on 23 and 24 November 2015 in Abu Dhabi.

Supporting documentation for the tenth meeting of the Council has been posted on REmember. Supporting documentation for past meetings of the Council can be found here.

IRENA’s Council is accountable to the Assembly and is composed of 21 Members who are elected on a rotating basis with the view of ensuring the effective participation of both developing and developed countries and the fair and equitable geographical distribution and effectiveness of the Council’s work. The Council, among other responsibilities stipulated in Article X of the Statute, facilitates consultations and cooperation among Members and considers the draft work programme, draft budget and annual report.

IRENA’s fifth Assembly elected the following countries to serve on the Council in 2015: Algeria, Cameroon, China, Ethiopia, Fiji, France, Gambia, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Poland, Swaziland, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United States of America and Uruguay. Cyprus, Kiribati, Somalia, the United Kingdom and Zimbabwe act as alternates.

Two Committees currently assist the Council in its work:
Administration and Finance Committee
Chair : Antigua & Barbuda
Members :  Fiji, France, India, Iran, Israel  

Programme and Strategy Committee
Chair :  Germany
Members :  Fiji, France, India, Iran, Malaysia, Mauritius

Copyright © 2015 IRENA - International Renewable Energy Agency. All Rights Reserved