International Renewable Energy Agency founded in Bonn

Founding Conference of IRENA

The International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) was officially established in Bonn on January 26 2009. The founding of IRENA is a milestone for world renewable energy supply and a clear sign that the global energy paradigm is changing due to the accelerating commitment from governments.

Andris Piebalgs
Mr. Andris Piebalgs, Key-Note
Speaker, EU-Energy Commissioner
The 'Deutsche Welle' Choir
The "Deutsche Welle" Choir
Connie Hedegaard, Sigmar Gabriel, Teresa Ribera Rodrguez
Ms. Connie Hedegaard, Vice-Chair, Minister of Climate and Energy (Denmark);
Mr. Sigmar Gabriel, Chair, Federal Environment Minister (Germany)
Ms. Teresa Ribera Rodrguez, Vice-Chair, Secretary of State for Climate Change (Spain)

125 delegations attended the Founding Conference and a total of 75 nations, developing and industrialised alike, signed the Agencys Statute. Many other nations expressed their strong commitment to IRENAs goals and their intention to join in the near future. Some of the founding members include: France, Italy, Poland, Ghana, Nigeria, Uganda, the Republic of Korea, the Philippines, Guatemala, Chile and Argentina.

Mamedou Diarra, Sir Diakite, Sigmar Gabriel
Mr. Mamedou Diarra, Minister of Energy, Mining and Water (Mali);
Ms. Sir Diakite, Malian Ambassador in Germany;
Mr. Sigmar Gabriel, Federal Environment Minister (Germany)
Safiatou Alzouma
Ms. Safiatou Alzouma, Director of Renewable Energies at the Ministry of Mines and Energy (Niger), signing the IRENA Statute


Hans Jrgen Koch, Wieczorek-Zeul, Miguel Sebastin Gascn
Mr. Hans Jrgen Koch, Vice-Chair, Deputy State Secretary (Denmark);
Ms. Wieczorek-Zeul, Chair, Federal Development Minister (Germany);
Mr. Miguel Sebastin Gascn, Vice-Chair, Minister of Industry, Tourism and Commerce (Spain)
Mr. Enkhtaivan, Vice Minister of Mineral Resources and Energy (Mongolia), signing the Statute
Group Picture
Group Picture

The conference was chaired by Germany's Federal Environment Minister, Sigmar Gabriel, and Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development, Heidemarie Wieczorek-Zeul. Since Denmark and Spain had actively supported Germany in IRENAs development from the beginning, the respective Ministers, Connie Hedegaard (Danish Minister for Climate and Energy) and Miguel Sebastin Gascn (Spanish Minister for Trade, Industry and Tourism) were elected Vice-Chairs.

The aim of the new Agency is to promote a rapid transition towards the widespread and sustainable use of renewable energy worldwide. IRENA is the first international organisation to focus exclusively on renewable energies, addressing both industrialised and developing worlds needs. IRENA will offer advice to its members on creating appropriate framework conditions, undertake capacity building as well as foster the dissemination of and learning from best practice examples for technology transfer and financing of renewable energies. IRENA will closely cooperate with other international organisations and institutions active in the field of renewable energy.

The Agency began its work only a day after the Founding Conference - 27 January 2009. During the first session of the Preparatory Commission, the Agencys interim body, the Signatories adopted criteria and procedures for selecting IRENAs Interim Director-General and its interim headquarters and invited all members to submit offers and nominations by 30 April 2009. They also created the institutional framework that will allow IRENA to embark on first elements of its work programme. The Preparatory Commission welcomed Egypts invitation to host the next session, scheduled for 29 to 30 June 2009. Decisions concerning the Interim Director-General and interim headquarters will be made during that session.

  To download all documents regarding the Founding Conference please click here.
  To download the statements of the speakers click here.

Pictures: photothek

Copyright © 2016 IRENA - International Renewable Energy Agency. All Rights Reserved.