

16 January 2022

Twelfth session of the Assembly Abu Dhabi, 15-16 January 2022

Report of the Credentials Committee

- 1. At its twelfth session the Assembly appointed the Credentials Committee, consisting of the following members: Antigua and Barbuda, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Ghana, Colombia, Cuba, Peru, Portugal and the United Arab Emirates.
- 2. The Credentials Committee met on **15 January 2022**. The Committee elected Ms Beatrix Schmuelling, the representative of the United Arab Emirates as Chairperson.
- 3. The Committee examined the credentials submitted to the Secretariat in accordance with Rule 24 of the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly in respect of the representatives registered to participate in the twelfth session of the Assembly as of 14 January 2022. The Committee had before it the information provided by the Secretariat on the status of the credentials received as of 15 January 2022.
- 4. The Committee determined that, as of 15 January 2022, the Members listed below had submitted credentials in the form required by Rule 24 of the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly, or were represented by the competent authority and therefore deemed to conform to the credentials requirement:

Albania; Algeria; Antigua and Barbuda; Argentina; Azerbaijan; Bahrain; Bangladesh; Belarus; Belgium; Belize; Bosnia and Herzegovina; Burkina Faso; China; Colombia; Costa Rica; Croatia; Cuba; Cyprus; Czech Republic; Denmark; Djibouti; Dominican Republic; Ecuador; Egypt; El Salvador; Eswatini; Ethiopia; European Union; Fiji; Finland; Germany; Ghana; Greece; Guyana; Honduras; Hungary; India; Indonesia; Iran (Islamic Republic of); Iraq; Ireland; Italy; Japan; Jordan; Kazakhstan; Kenya; Latvia; Lebanon; Luxembourg; Malaysia; Maldives; Mali; Malta; Marshall Islands; Mauritania; Mauritius; Mexico; Mozambique; Nauru; Nepal; Netherlands (Kingdom of); New Zealand; Nigeria; Norway; Pakistan; Peru; Philippines; Poland; Portugal; Qatar; Republic of Korea; Republic of Moldova; Romania; Russian Federation; Rwanda; Saint Lucia; Saint Vincent and the Grenadines; Samoa; San Marino; Senegal; Serbia; Seychelles; Singapore; Slovenia; South Africa; Spain; Sweden; Switzerland; Tajikistan; Thailand; Tonga; Trinidad and Tobago; Turkey; Turkmenistan; Tuvalu; Uganda; United Arab Emirates; United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland; United States of America; Uruguay; Yemen; and Zimbabwe.

- 5. The Committee noted that five Members had not submitted credentials in the proper form and recommends that the Assembly accepts the credentials of the representatives of these Members on the understanding that an electronic copy of their credentials in the proper form will be submitted to the IRENA Secretariat as soon as possible.
- 6. The Committee noted that thirty-five Members with a registered delegation as of 14 January 2022 had not submitted any credentials. The Committee recommends that the representatives of these Members be permitted to participate provisionally in the twelfth session of the Assembly on the condition that an electronic copy of their credentials will be submitted to the Secretariat as soon as possible.
- 7. The Committee recommends that the Assembly call upon all Members to submit to the Secretariat the credentials of their representative, if possible, not less than seven days in advance of the relevant session of the Assembly as provided in Rule 24 of the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly, but in no event later than the opening of the session.
- 8. The Committee recommends that the Assembly requests the Secretariat to issue to all IRENA Members, at least three months before each session of the Assembly and as may be needed thereafter, a reminder about the requirement to submit the credentials of their representatives in accordance with Rule 24 of the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly, and no later than the opening of the session.