

12 January 2019

Ninth session of the Assembly Abu Dhabi, 11-13 January 2019

Decision on the IRENA Council membership for 2019-2020

The Assembly,

Noting that, pursuant to Article IX.G.1 of the IRENA Statute, the Assembly shall, by consensus of the Members present, elect the members of the Council;

Noting further that Article X.A of the Statute states that the members of the Council shall be elected on a rotating basis as laid down in the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly, with a view to ensuring effective participation of developing and developed countries and achieving fair and equitable geographical distribution and effectiveness of the Council's work;

Noting further that the election to the IRENA Council is also governed by Rules 69 and 70 of the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly, as contained in document A/5/5, with due regard being paid to the regional groupings set out in the annex thereto;

Recalling the decision of the eighth session of the Assembly to set 15 March 2018 as the deadline for Members to express interest in Council membership for the period 2019-2020 as a basis for further consultations as necessary.

Noting with gratitude the guidance received from the President of the eighth session of the Assembly pertaining to the overall process and *recalling* the extensive consultations conducted in the spirit of cooperation and transparency within each regional grouping between March and November 2018 by the President and four Vice-Presidents of the eighth session of the Assembly;

Commending the President and the four Vice-Presidents for their efforts to enable an inclusive and transparent consideration of the matter as well as the Members for their adherence to the procedure and deadlines and their efforts to reach agreement on Council seat allocation in a cooperative spirit;

Bearing in mind the need to ensure inclusiveness and engagement by all countries in the global effort to scale up the deployment of renewable energy and *encouraging* the Council in this context to ensure transparent and broad participation of all Members of the Agency in its work;

Decides to elect the members of the Council for 2019-2020 set out in the Annex to the present decision.

ANNEX

IRENA Council Membership for 2019-2020

2019

Members

1. Antigua and Barbuda 2. Burkina Faso 3. Cameroon 4. China 5. Dominican Republic 6. Egypt 7. Germany 8. Japan 9. Kiribati 10. Lebanon 11. Luxembourg 12. Mexico 13. Mozambique 14. Republic of Korea 15. Spain 16. Switzerland 17. Turkey

- 18. Uganda
- 19. United Arab Emirates
- 20. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
- 21. United States of America

Alternates

- 1. Argentina
- 2. Bangladesh
- 3. Chad
- 4. Cyprus
- 5. El Salvador
- 6. Italy
- 7. Malaysia
- 8. New Zealand
- 9. Nigeria
- 10. Philippines

2020

Members

- 1. Antigua and Barbuda
- 2. Bangladesh
- 3. Belgium
- 4. Burkina Faso
- 5. Chad
- 6. Cyprus
- 7. Dominican Republic
- 8. Egypt
- 9. Germany
- 10. Italy
- 11. Jordan
- 12. Kiribati
- 13. Malaysia
- 14. Mexico
- 15. Mozambique
- 16. New Zealand
- 17. Philippines
- 18. Switzerland
- 19. Uganda
- 20. United Arab Emirates
- 21. United States of America

Alternates

- 1. Argentina
- 2. Cameroon
- 3. China
- 4. El Salvador
- 5. Japan
- 6. Nigeria
- 7. Republic of Korea
- 8. Spain
- 9. Turkey
- 10. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland