

15 January 2017

INTERNATIONAL RENEWABLE ENERGY AGENCY

Seventh session of the Assembly Abu Dhabi, 14 – 15 January 2017

Decision on the membership of the Council of IRENA

The Assembly,

Noting that, pursuant to Article IX.G.1 of the IRENA Statute, the Assembly shall, by consensus of the Members present, elect the members of the Council;

Noting further that Article X.A of the Statute states that the members of the Council shall be elected on a rotating basis as laid down in the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly, with a view to ensuring effective participation of developing and developed countries and achieving fair and equitable geographical distribution and effectiveness of the Council's work:

Noting further that the election to the IRENA Council is also governed by Rules 69 and 70 of the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly, as contained in document A/5/5, with due regard being paid to the regional groupings set out in the annex thereto;

Noting with gratitude the guidance received from the President of the sixth session of the Assembly pertaining to the overall process and *recalling* the extensive consultations conducted in the spirit of cooperation and transparency within each regional grouping between April and November 2016 by the four Vice-Presidents of the sixth session of the Assembly;

Commending the four Vice-Presidents for their efforts to enable an inclusive and transparent consideration of the matter as well as the Members for their adherence to the procedure and deadlines and their efforts to reach agreement on Council seat allocation in a cooperative spirit;

Bearing in mind the need to ensure inclusiveness and engagement by all countries in the global effort to scale up the deployment of renewable energy and *encouraging* the Council in this context to ensure transparent and broad participation of all Members of the Agency in its work;

Decides to elect the members of the Council for 2017-2018 set out in the Annex to the present decision.

ANNEX

IRENA Council Membership for 2017-2018

2017

Members

- 1. Argentina
- 2. Bahamas
- 3. Belgium
- 4. Burkina Faso
- 5. China
- 6. Colombia
- 7. Egypt
- 8. Germany
- 9. Ghana
- 10. India
- 11. Japan
- 12. Norway
- 13. Republic of Korea
- 14. Russian Federation
- 15. Samoa
- 16. Sudan
- 17. Turkey
- 18. United Arab Emirates
- 19. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
- 20. United States of America
- 21. Zimbabwe

Alternates

- 1. Bangladesh
- 2. Cyprus
- 3. Dominican Republic
- 4. France
- 5. Kenya
- 6. Malaysia
- 7. Panama
- 8. Philippines
- 9. Spain
- 10. Uruguay

2018

Members

- 1. Argentina
- 2. China
- 3. Colombia
- 4. Cyprus
- 5. Egypt
- 6. France
- 7. Ghana
- 8. Italy
- 9. Japan
- 10. Kenya
- 11. Malaysia
- 12. Niger
- 13. Russian Federation
- 14. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
- 15. Samoa
- 16. Saudi Arabia
- 17. Spain
- 18. Sweden
- 19. United Arab Emirates
- 20. United States of America
- 21. Zimbabwe

Alternates

- 1. Bangladesh
- 2. Dominican Republic
- 3. Germany
- 4. Panama
- 5. Philippines
- 6. Republic of Korea
- 7. Sudan
- 8. Turkey
- 9. Uruguay