

30 January 2012

INTERNATIONAL RENEWABLE ENERGY AGENCY Second session of the Assembly Abu Dhabi, 14 – 15 January 2012

Decision on the

initiation of the funding cycle for projects applying for funding

from the Abu Dhabi Fund for Development

The Assembly,

recalling the commitment of the United Arab Emirates, as expressed under paragraph 05.12 in the "Proposal of the United Arab Emirates to host the Interim Seat of the Secretariat for the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA)", to make available funds through the Abu Dhabi Fund for Development (ADFD) to finance renewable energy projects in developing nations that are recommended or endorsed by IRENA;

recalling further decision PC.4/DC.4 of the Preparatory Commission of IRENA on the selection procedures for projects applying for funding from the Abu Dhabi Fund for Development;

taking note of the report of the Director-General on the "Abu Dhabi Fund for Development funding cycle" as contained in A/2/16, specifically the recommendations put forward in the report;

1. *Establishes* an Advisory Committee based on Members' applications for its membership and elects 7 members and up to 7 alternates;

- 2. *Acknowledges* the importance of having an effective Panel of Experts drawn from a list of candidates to be submitted by the Director-General to the Advisory Committee, and encourages Members and Signatories to continue to recommend experts;
- 3. *Requests* the Director-General in consultation with the Advisory Committee to propose streamlined funding cycle procedures, in consultation with the ADFD, in order to present its recommendations to the 3rd Assembly;
- 4. *Authorizes* the Director-General to launch the first ADFD funding cycle based on decision PC.4/DC.4, which will be subject to revision by the Advisory Committee;
- 5. *Elects* the members of the Advisory Committee and the alternates as listed in Annex 1.

Annex 1

Members of the Advisory Committee and alternates for the first ADFD funding cycle

Members

- 1. Ecuador
- 2. France
- 3. India
- 4. Poland
- 5. Republic of Korea
- 6. Samoa
- 7. Tunisia

Alternates

- 1. Bosnia and Herzegovina
- 2. Germany
- 3. Japan
- 4. Spain
- 5. Swaziland