

Distribution: General 16 August 2011

INTERNATIONAL RENEWABLE ENERGY AGENCY

First Session of the Assembly Abu Dhabi, 4 - 5 April 2011 Agenda item 19

## Decision on the membership of the Council of the International Renewable Energy Agency

The Assembly,

*Noting* the extensive consultations that have taken place regarding the membership of the Council,

*Recognizing* that not all Signatories have ratified the IRENA Statute, and that IRENA's membership is likely to evolve,

*Emphasizing* the requirements of Article X of the Statute which notes that the composition of the Council should be determined with a view to ensuring effective participation of developing and developed countries and achieving fair and equitable geographical distribution and effectiveness of the Council's work,

*Noting* that the method used to determine the membership of the first Council is not a precedent for the determination of membership of future Councils,

*Emphasizing further* that Article X of the Statute requires that members of the Council shall be elected on a rotating basis as laid down in the rules of procedure of the Assembly, and that the structure of this rotating system remains under discussion,

Decides:

1. to approve the membership of the Council as attached in Annex 1; and

2. to request the Governance/Legal Committee of the Council, in connection with its review of the Provisional Rules of Procedure of the Assembly, to review the mandate in Article X of the Statute to determine an appropriate mechanism for electing members of the Council on a rotating basis, and to consider other issues related to Council composition, and to report back to the second meeting of the Assembly.

Annex 1

## Membership of the Council of the International Renewable Energy Agency

- 1. Antigua and Barbuda
- 2. Australia
- 3. Denmark
- 4. Ecuador
- 5. Eritrea
- 6. France
- 7. Germany
- 8. India
- 9. Japan
- **10. Luxembourg**
- 11. Mali
- 12. Mexico
- 13. Nigeria
- 14. Poland
- 15. Republic of Korea
- 16. Senegal
- **17. South Africa**
- 18. Spain
- 19. Tonga
- **20. United Arab Emirates**
- 21. United States of America