

18 January 2015

#### INTERNATIONAL RENEWABLE ENERGY AGENCY

Fifth session of the Assembly Abu Dhabi, 17 – 18 January 2015

# **Decision on the membership of the Council of IRENA**

The Assembly,

*Noting* that, pursuant to Article IX paragraph G number 1 of the IRENA Statute, the Assembly shall, by consensus of the Members present, elect the members of the Council;

*Noting further* that Article X.A of the Statute states that the members of the Council shall be elected on a rotating basis as laid down in the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly, with a view to ensuring effective participation of developing and developed countries and achieving fair and equitable geographical distribution and effectiveness of the Council's work;

*Noting further* that the election to the IRENA Council is also governed by Rules 69 and 70 of the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly, as contained in document A/3/6, with due regard being paid to the Regional Groupings set out in the annex thereto;

*Recalling* the extensive consultations conducted between June and December 2014 by facilitators within each regional grouping, as per the approach agreed by the Council at its seventh and eighth meeting;

*Noting with gratitude* the efforts of these facilitators to enable inclusive and transparent consideration of the matter, as well as the efforts of all Members to reach agreement on Council seat allocation in a spirit of cooperation and compromise;

Bearing in mind the need to ensure inclusiveness and engagement by all countries in the global effort to scale up the deployment of renewable energy and encouraging the Council in this context to ensure transparent and broad participation of all Members of the Agency in its work;

*Decides* to elect the members of the Council for 2015-2016 set out in the Annex to the present decision.

### **ANNEX**

# **IRENA Council Membership 2015-2016**

### 2015

## **Members**

- 1. Algeria
- 2. Cameroon
- 3. China
- 4. Ethiopia
- 5. Fiji
- 6. France
- 7. Gambia
- 8. Germany
- 9. India
- 10. Italy
- 11. Japan
- 12. Malaysia
- 13. New Zealand
- 14. Nicaragua
- 15. Poland
- 16. Swaziland
- 17. Trinidad and Tobago
- 18. Turkey
- 19. United Arab Emirates
- 20. United States of America
- 21. Uruguay

## **Alternates**

- 1. Cyprus
- 2. Kiribati
- 3. Somalia
- 4. United Kingdom
- 5. Zimbabwe

### 2016

# Members

- 1. Albania
- 2. Algeria
- 3. Bahamas
- 4. Belgium
- 5. Cameroon
- 6. China
- 7. Cyprus
- 8. Ethiopia
- 9. Fiji
- 10. Gambia
- 11. India
- 12. Israel
- 13. Japan
- 14. Nicaragua
- 15. Poland
- 16. Republic of Korea
- 17. United Arab Emirates
- 18. United Kingdom
- 19. United States of America
- 20. Uruguay
- 21. Zambia

### **Alternates**

- 1. France
- 2. Germany
- 3. Kiribati
- 4. Somalia
- 5. Turkey
- 6. Zimbabwe